Facebook Lies About Security

Now I’m just plain mad. Facebook has gone too far. In the company’s effort to make a buck through advertising, it has started lying about how it tracks member activity. This includes activity once a member has logged off Facebook!

This is totally unacceptable. Remember, this is a site where the majority of members are teenagers, many well under the age of 18. This from Computerworld:

If users have ever checked the option for Facebook to “remember me” — which saves users from having to log on to the site upon every return to it — Facebook can tie their activities on third-party Beacon sites directly to them, even if they’re logged off and have opted out of the broadcast. If they have never chosen this option, the information still flows back to Facebook, although without it being tied to their Facebook ID, according to Berteau.

Facebook’s admission over the weekend contradicts its previous statements regarding this issue. For example, in e-mail correspondence with Facebook’s privacy department, Berteau was told, among other things, that “as long as you are logged out of Facebook, no actions you have taken on other websites can be sent to Facebook.”

Stefan Berteau, senior research engineer at CA Inc.’s Threat Research Group, blogged on CA’s Web site about Beacon’s until-then unknown ability to monitor logged-off users’ activities and send the data back to Facebook.

Leave a Reply